



HEART FAILURE ASSOCIATION (HFA) of the ESC



Tuesday, 23rd December 2014

BOARD

Executive Committee

Gerasimos FILIPPATOS President Athens, GR geros@otenet.gr

Frank RUSCHITZKA
President-elect
Zurich, CH
frank.ruschitzka@usz.ch

Stefan ANKER
Past President
Berlin, DE
s.anker@cachexia.de

Theresa McDONAGH
Chairman Clinical Section
London, UK
theresa.mcdonagh@kcl.ac.uk

Christoph MAACK
Chairman Basic Sciences Section
Homburg/Saar, DE
Christoph.Maack@uniklinikum-saarland.de

Jillian RILEY Secretary London, UK Jillian.riley@imperial.ac.uk

Arno HOES Treasurer Utrecht, NL A.W.Hoes@umcutrecht.nl

Alexandre MEBAZAA Coordinator for National HF Societies & Working Groups Paris, FR alexandre.mebazaa@lrb.aphp.fr

Board members

Johann Bauersachs (DE)
Andrew Coats (UK)
Marisa Crespo-Leiro (ES)
Rudolf De Boer (NL)
Veli-Pekka Harjola (FI)
Stephane Heymans (NL)
Ekaterini Lambrinou (CY)
Mitja Lainscak (SI)
Adelino Leite-Moreira (PT)
Yury Lopatin (RU)
Massimo Piepoli (IT)
Giuseppe Rosano (IT)

EX OFFICIO

Burkert Pieske (AT)
Petar Seferovic (RS)
Guido Tarone (IT)
Dirk van Veldhuisen (NL)

SUI GENERIS

Aldo Maggioni (IT) Piotr Ponikowski (PL) Dear Prof. Kusljugic,

It is our distinct pleasure and honour to announce the new Heart Failure Specialists of Tomorrow (HoT) initiative.

HoT is coordinated by a HoT nucleus, supported and guided by Prof. Alexandre Mebazaa and Prof. Petar Seferovic from the HFA Board and Prof Gerasimos Filippatos, President of the HFA. To establish the HoT initiative in your country and thus strengthen the young community with special interests in heart failure, we kindly request your cooperation.

What is HoT?

The HoT initiative aims to provide a platform for an active and creative network of young people interested in heart failure in a unique interdisciplinary manner. We want to ensure mutual collaboration among different young professionals who tackle the issue of heart failure, including cardiologists, nurses, physiotherapists, basic scientists and other groups. The HoT initiative should spread the HFA's mission to the young generation and promote excellence among young people in the Association and the field heart failure specialization.

Eligibility criteria for HoT

In order to become a HoT member, one needs to be:

- at least a basic member of the HFA
- a professional in training (cardiologist, nurse, dietician, biologist, biotechnologist, physiotherapist, or other professional)
- or a student aiming to obtain one of these professions
- age: 40 years and under

The HoT webpage is available on the HFA website. We are currently collecting names of people interested in the initiative and will be launching a survey on detailed needs and expectations of HoT members in the new year.

Search for National HoT representatives

As it was vigorously discussed during the recent HFA Summit in Rome, we kindly ask you, if possible together with the leader of the young cardiologists' group in your country, to nominate a young, motivated and capable representative from your country who would be willing to become a HoT national representative. National representatives should serve as a link between the national HoT members and the HoT nucleus. They should establish and promote the HoT initiative in their country and recruit highly motivated young people with special interest in the field of heart failure.

Once they have established HoT initiative they will be asked to provide regularly updates on development and achievements on the national level, as well as novel proposals and ideas to be performed together.





HEART FAILURE ASSOCIATION (HFA) of the ESC



BOARD

Executive Committee

Gerasimos FILIPPATOS President

Athens, GR geros@otenet.gr

Frank RUSCHITZKA President-elect

Zurich, CH frank.ruschitzka@usz.ch

Stefan ANKER Past President

Berlin, DE s.anker@cachexia.de

Theresa McDONAGH Chairman Clinical Section

London, UK theresa.mcdonagh@kcl.ac.uk

Christoph MAACK

Chairman Basic Sciences Section Homburg/Saar, DE

Christoph.Maack@uniklinikum-saarland.de

Jillian RILEY Secretary London, UK

Jillian.riley@imperial.ac.uk

Arno HOES Treasurer

Utrecht, NL A.W.Hoes@umcutrecht.nl

Alexandre MEBAZAA Coordinator for National HF Societies & Working Groups

Paris, FR alexandre.mebazaa@lrb.aphp.fr

Board members

Johann Bauersachs (DE)

Andrew Coats (UK)

Marisa Crespo-Leiro (ES)

Rudolf De Boer (NL)

Veli-Pekka Harjola (FI)

Stephane Heymans (NL)

Ekaterini Lambrinou (CY)

Mitja Lainscak (SI)

Adelino Leite-Moreira (PT)

Yury Lopatin (RU)

Massimo Piepoli (IT)

Giuseppe Rosano (IT)

EX OFFICIO

Burkert Pieske (AT)

Petar Seferovic (RS)

Guido Tarone (IT)

Dirk van Veldhuisen (NL)

SUI GENERIS

Aldo Maggioni (IT) Piotr Ponikowski (PL) In the near future, we are planning several networking initiatives for national HoT representatives and we do not want your country to be absent. Please reply by initially by January 12. If it takes time to find a representative, we will be in further contact.

Please send us the contact details to Dr. Markus Wallner from the HoT nucleus, e-mail: markus.wallner@medunigraz.at.

The HFA Board and the HoT nucleus count on your support to spread HoT initiative in your country. Take this great opportunity to strengthen the future of your national working group!

Best regards,

Prof. Gerasimos Filippatos, President of the HFA

Prof. Alexandre Mebazaa and Prof. Petar Seferovic,

From the HFA Board

Ewa A. Jankowska and Markus Wallner,

On behalf of HoT nucleus